>Is it scary for you?

>The more I think about LEJoG, the more daunting it gets.

I keep thinking that I am going to have to average each day further than I have ever cycled in a day. That scares me. However, I am at least riding daily to and from work. Its a 25 mile round trip, but I have been averaging somewhere between 30 and 40 miles a day (weekdays only) so far this year. Sadly for me, the route I commute on is flat, so no practice for the hills. However, 40 miles a day at this time of year has got to be a good start and give me a basis to build up the distance as the days get longer.

The travel arrangements to and from the ride are starting to come together. I am going by train to Penzance, staying with a friend there and setting off the next morning from Lands End. My partner has managed to get some time off work, so is going to meet me at John O’ Groats and is coming by car so I don’t need to worry about ScotRail from Wick/ Thurso to Inverness. I have a few days off work after I complete the ride, so it will be nice to travel slowly back from JoG, hopefully visiting Edinburgh and the Northumberland Coast.

I keep thinking that I should really start to plan the route I am going to take, but every time I start to think about it, I just see hills in Devon & Cornwall and get distracted.

Never mind, this weekend to distract me from cycling, I am off to do my motorbike CBT. That should be fun as I have never ridden a motorbike before. Perhaps if I get to like riding a motorbike, I can do LEJoG on one of those, it would be easier on the legs.

The good news about planning this ride is that it gives me an incentive to lose some weight. I am motivated by the idea of having less weight to lug up those hills.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Is it scary for you?

  1. Jo says:

    >Hey hello!!How times change eh? It wasn’t that long ago since you were writing on my blog!I’ve got no doubt at all that you will do this, I know it must be scary thinking about those hills – getting up the hill into my village is enough to give me nightmares! – but you are just way too stubborn to even consider giving in!Get peddaling…it won’t be long! (Not sure if that actually helps matters!)

Leave a Reply

