>Happy Birthday

>Happy Birthday mother – I’ll spare you the blushes of revealing how old you are.

I spent the weekend riding on 2 wheels, but this time with an engine. I’d never ridden a motor bike or moped before. [ NOTE to woman from British Consulate in Benidorm – I did not have a motorbike accident in 1987 – unlike what you repeatedly told me when I was in hospital there] I had great fun doing my CBT course. Will I go on to get my full bike licence? That’s a challenge for later on in the year. Its difficult to fit in the lessons though as I spend my weekends between here and Nottingham and having lessons means not spending time with Jo. I don’t own a motorbike, I commute on my pushbike and don’t want to change that. I walk to the shops from my home, have excellent public transport in tubes, buses and trains nearby, so why do I need a motorbike I hear people ask. I don’t is the answer, but I want to challenge myself to pass the test.

Well as to my cycling, I have now managed over 500 miles so far this year, just commuting to / from work and am trying to increase my round trip commute to a minimum of 30 miles a day and preferably 40+miles. I’ve not managed a weekend ride yet, but have got a couple of Audax events in mind (Tom, are you taking note?) for March and April.

500 miles may sound impressive , but its very flat riding from here to work. I need to try to get myself out on a weekend and go riding in the forest, that’s Epping, not Hamsterly for you Geographically challenged.

I think I also need to get on sorting out what I am going to do about route planning. I think I am going to get myself a Garmin GPS device and route plan on that. It will save the weight of lots of maps and will also act as my computer for the ride etc – oh and its a gadget to play with.

Right- time to get ready and out for my morning commute. the earlier I set off the more miles I can get in and the more likely I can get a couple of laps of Hyde Park in- its beautiful early morning there- its worth the ride to see it- its one of London’s treasure.

Oh and for those who have expressed concerns, I have amended my profile! I checked on my birth certificate and the profile was wrong

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

