>Thank You

>Just a short post to give a mention to a few of the people who have helped me to get to this stage- that is the stage of panic and dread that its nearly the starting day and I am not prepared enough.

Firstly, I must give thanks to my son Tom, who would dearly love to be riding with me, but sadly for him he has got his GCSE exams at exactly the time I am doing the ride. Tom is the reason I got into cycling. My father got Tom cycling at the age of about 7, and being the over protective parent that I am, I wouldn’t let Tom ride his bike alone on the roads in London, so I got a bike to accompany him. Over the years, Tom has accompanied me on many rides, including several London- Southend rides, several Audax events and general weekend rides around the Essex lanes. Last summer Tom & my father did the C2C ride from Whitehaven to Hartlepool. Tom has never let me hear the end of that and the fact he did it and I didn’t. That is probably part of my motivation to do LEJoG.

Next, I must give a mention to my father who has encouraged me to cycle and is a seemingly never ending source of bikes and bike kit. He is even going to travel over from Durham to Wales and ride with me up to the Carlisle or the Scottish borders, and even better has persuaded my mother to drive that part of the route carrying our luggage. Thanks to both of you.

Next, I must say thanks to Les Harrison, a fellow north east cyclist and a friend of my father. Les did LEJoG last summer and his advice has been very helpful, from what luggage to take, what route to follow and how to approach the hills etc.

Last but not least, I must give a big thank you to Jo, my partner for not letting me weasel my way out of doing the ride. She has also decided to give up her time to join me as luggage carrier/ hotel booker etc for the 2nd week of the ride. She has put up with my arranging weekends around cycling- ie getting home late on a Friday/ leaving early on a Monday so I can do extra cycling. She’s even put up with my falling asleep on the sofa or in the cinema as I’m too tired after too much cycling. She’s a star.

Finally, I got round to putting all the luggage etc on my bike today. I’ve got the GPS, computer, all set up on bike now. Just got to try packing my kit into the luggage bags now

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Thank You

  1. Greg says:

    >And, of course, thanks to the Nashes for fuelling you up with sausages! By the way you hadn’t told Julie, we did, she has something to say so don’t think you’ve escaped!I think I’m even more envious than Tom in not coming along but I’m not sure I could ride from Lands End to the A30 in one day!ps. If a ferry is cheating, isn’t a GPS?

Leave a Reply

