>Anxious

>Its now only just over 3 days till it all starts. Scary isn’t it?

I’m glad I decided to pack in a minimalist fashion as I seem to be ending up with more and more kit to take with me. What about this and that and this as well. Lots of helpful suggestions from lots of people. I will end up having to take a rain check on some of the items. Will I make the right choice? Only time will tell. Hopefully my credit card can enable me to purchase anything I do not take with me if it proves to have been the wrong choice to leave it behind.

I’ve decided that I am going to take it easy this week, so not doing much more than the basic 25 mile round commute each day. Time to start putting those last minute plans into action. Must remember to put the bins out this week and ensure all the perishable foods in the fridge are disposed of. I’ll even have to remember to ensure there are no dirty cups left to grow mouldy whilst I am away.

I have sorted out arrangements for the night before I start the ride in Penzance with friends. They have even kindly offered to take me down to Lands Ends on Saturday morning and to meet up with me for lunch somewhere on the way. True friends indeed :-).

I’ve just emailed my cousin to sort out staying with him and his wife one night, its just a shame I am not sure if it will be at the end of day 6 or day 7. I am not setting any absolute distance targets for each day as I do not know how hard I will find it. However, early starts and late finishes will hopefully give me enough time to get decent distances in each day.

I see today that Sir Chris Hoy is planing on doing LEJoG this summer. He is doing a supported ride ( ie got someone to carry his luggage) and is planning on doing it in 10 days. This makes me feel my hoped for 14/ 15 days is optimistic!

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

