I’m So Over It

Well as the mists of the weekend clear, there are more memories of the weekend coming to light.

Saturday afternoon when we went to The Vallum farm shop and had tea and a cake, there was a reason for driving there other than that. We had set off there to purchase some of their burgers to take back to London with me. Looks like we managed to forget why we went there. I told you we were rather tired.

After leaving the Vallum we went on a wine hunt. The Spar in Wylam was the first destination but only after Michelle hid behind parked vehicles to avoid ex work colleagues. Sadly the Spar had no bottles of red wine left in the 3 bottles for £10 offer, so we had to drive over to another Spar at the petrol station at Heddon to try to get the wine offer. Fortunately the mission was successfully accomplished, so it was now time to head home.

Tea on saturday night we decided would be a chinese takeaway. After choosing the food I suggested we telephone the order in, and even dialled the place before Michele decided it would be easier to go to collect the food. Simple? Well, someone then decided 30 minutes later we should telephone the order in and have it ready for when we get there to collect it. Why didn’t we do that earlier? Yes, Michelle, why didn’t we do it earlier? We could have avoided the lengthy wait at the chinese if you had telephoned earlier

After getting and eating the chinese we snuggled on sofa to watch THAT film. A drink or two was in order. Obviously after the miles we drove for the wine, we’d be drinking that wouldn’t we? Erm….no, we had vodka instead! Clearly not a lot of thinking was done on Saturday.

Sunday morning we were to replace the 2 light bulbs that had blown in the bathroom and 1 in the kitchen. Easy surely? Well, erm we forgot. Whoops!

I should mention that Michelle actually introduced me to one of her friends this weekend – Hello Judith. It’s the first time she has introduced me to any of her friends. I must have started behaving better!

For those worrying about the three bottles of wine we bought on Saturday, I am pleased to re assure you that we managed to drink them on Sunday with Judith and with Michelle’s parents!

Work today was erm……well it was.

After the saga with my sofas, Homebase agreed to deliver them tomorrow (Tuesday) after 16:00. Sorted? Well not when Homebase text me at 16:30 today to say they will be delivering between 11:00 and 13:00 – now call me old-fashioned but that is not after 16:00 is it? I rang them to say I would not be in between 11:00 and 13:00 as I had told them last week. I suggested we re arrange delivery for another date. This can’t be done until they have failed to deliver the sofa tomorrow! Do they think I am lying and will actually be home tomorrow. Customer Service? Homebase could be onto a winner if they introduced such a concept!

The glood news is Michelle and I have booked another two weekends to London and Newcastle in January. I’d love to book more, but its a start.

I’m so over it

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

