Sorry Kylie – its all off

Until then end of the Ashes it is. I can’t have a relationship with the enemy.

Today marked the start of the Ashes (Australia v England Cricket Series)with the first Test Match in Brisbane and like Harmison’s wide in the first ball 4 years ago, Strauss went for a duck on the 3rd ball of the series. A great example and lead set by our captain. So much for all the hype.

 I managed to watch the first session of the first day via an internet feed found for me by my son. Thanks Tom; as usual he can be relied upon for internet feeds of live sporting events. I knew there was positive reasons for having children. This is also an advantage of being off work ill, namely I can stay up late to watch the coverage from Brisbane live.

For those of you who do not understand cricket, here is a simple explanation:

Cricket: As explained to a foreigner…
You have two sides, one out in the field and one in.

Each man that’s in the side that’s in goes out, and when he’s out he comes in and the next man goes in until he’s out.

When they are all out, the side that’s out comes in and the side that’s been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out.

Sometimes you get men still in and not out.
When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in.

There are two men called umpires who stay out all the time and they decide when the men who are in are out.
When both sides have been in and all the men have been out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game.

Hopefully now I have clarified that for you all, you will be tuned in to the rest of the Ashes series. As The USA was still in its phase of re construction after the Civil War, the English were playing their first Test Match against the Convicts (Australia). One feature of the Ashes games is the fantastic banter between the English and the Convict. There are some cracking songs at the games, obviously alcohol induced. I mean a game that is played in the sun and last for 6 hours playing time a day for 5 days has got to be a good excuse to drink.

Convict Colony

(To the tune of Yellow Submarine by the Beatles)
In the town where I was born, there lived a man who was a thief
And he told me of his life, stealing bread and shagging sheep.
So they put him in the nick, and then a magistrate he went to see
He said “put him on a ship, to the convict colony”
You all live in a convict colony, a convict colony, a convict colony
You all live in a convict colony, a convict colony, a convict colony

Not Quite The Australian National Anthem – a tribute by the Barmy Army

Sadly, nothing changes with English cricket and we managed to be all out for 260, including a hat trick for Siddle. Maybe in 4 years time……

What else has happened since my last post. Firstly, I am off work suffering man flu. Woke up this morning coughing and sneezing and feeling like someone had kicked me black and blue. I decided not to spread my germs around work and am therefore on the sick. Hopefully I will be feeling better soon.

Well the Homebase saga continues. I got a call from the customer relations department today, who ignored all the issues of the previous day, including the call to say they were delivering yesterday after 4pm. When I said I wanted an explanation as to why I was called at 10:05 yesterday and told I would get the delivery yesterday and why I was told at 17:39 they would call me back but did neither, I was told they would end the call if I continued to be sarcastic! I was also told I was lying when I said I received a call from them at 10:05 confirming the delivery. I offered to play them the voicemail message but was told this was irrelevant.

So it seems that telling the truth is being sarcastic and you are lying about phone calls despite having the recording of the call. This being the customer relations department! The mind boggles at what Homebase think customer relations are.

I asked for a senior manager to call me back and subsequently I did receive a phone call from a manager whose approach was so different from that of her customer relations department employees. Apologies were offered, a new delivery date was sorted and a gesture of compensation was made. So now I just have to see if Homebase (Argos) stick to the new delivery date.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

