The New Messiah?

The king is dead, long live the king.

Well, another weekend is over. Only one more weekend before Christmas.

No, the Messiah is not him, its  far more serious than that.

Newcastle’s first game under their new manager resulted in a 3-1 win against Liverpool. A well deserved win I hasten to add. Ironically, the first two goals were scored by the scousers in our team, ex Evertonian Joey Barton getting a second after Kevin Nolan opened the scoring. Andy Carroll wrapped it up with a cracking goal. So is Alan Pardew the new messiah and Chris Hughton forgotten?

The answer to that would depend upon which paper you rely on for your match reports. It’s clear that some journalists are doing their best to brown nose Pardew and the Fat Cockney. The re writing of history is incredible. For example Pardew showed he was a great manager at West Ham according to one paper. His record there consisted of taking two seasons to get them out of the second tier in football despite having by far the largest resources in the division. Then his team threw away a 3-0 lead in the FA Cup Final and lost the game. He was then sacked after leading West Ham to their worst start to a season in 40 years. Does that sound like a great manager.

After leaving West Ham he managed Charlton to relegation to the second tier, leaving them heading down to where they are now in the third tier. He was sacked again here before going to Southampton and failed to get them promotion despite again being amongst the biggest clubs in the third tier. He was then sacked after *allegedly* having an affair with one of the players wives.

I much preferred the match report that described Ashley as having as much knowledge about football as he does about low-calorie diets.

As for Pardew, he only has 285 weeks of his contract left to survive. Anne Franks had more chance of survival than Pardew does.

I went to Newcastle to watch the game with Michelle. We met some of the lads for a beer before the game and then when they went to the ground we stayed in the warmth and watched the game on TV in The Gate (http://www.thegatenewcastle.co.uk) The bar we watched the game in had a party of females out for a 40th birthday. One of them was a very gobby scouser who was chanting and shouting about Liverpool in a bar full of Geordies. Funnily enough she was not in the bar at the end of the game when Liverpool had surrendered.

After the game we had a few more beers with those who had been to the game before heading back to Michelle’s house via the last bus home. I can’t recall when I last got the last bus home. Last train – yes, night bus – yes, late night taxi- yes, even shank’s pony but, last bus home – not for years.

I have to confess Michelle let me down on Saturday night. I thought it was perfectly reasonable when I suggested she could get the last train to Wylam to collect a Chinese as they don’t deliver that late,walk home/ taxi to Horsley  and then meet me off the last bus to Horsley. The last train going 45 minutes before the last bus. Sadly she did not agree- I mean how selfish are some women. I’d let her come out with me and the lads to the football, and she won’t even get me a chinese and take it home. Instead I had to put up with prawns and garlic in a white sauce with pasta. It’s not on.

Seriously, that supper was absolutely perfect and far better than a chinese would be. Also, I am joking about expecting Michelle to go home to collect a chinese- I wouldn’t do that.  (I wanted her to get an Indian)

Sunday was a day of leisure. In fact, it was such a day of leisure that I can’t recall what we did apart from another couple of bottles of wine. Michelle even tried some Chardonnay. Half a mouthful and it was spat out. Not the best idea to buy Chardonnay.

Today brought a 0500 start, the 0630 train from Newcastle to London and a business meeting on the train with one of my work colleagues. This was followed by a meeting straight from the train. So, a busy day was had.

A weekend of good food, good drink and good company does nothing for my waistline. I am however, aiming to cycle to work tomorrow, but it will be an early start as I have an all staff training day tomorrow, including a session with the Attorney General. Me name drop? LOL

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Football, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

