Hypocrites Pt 2

Just a short mention for Manchester City Fans on Boxing Day singing

“Newcastle is a sh*thole

I want to go home”

This would be the Manchester City who until recently were based in the Moss side area of Manchester before moving to Eastlands

Now Moss side is described in the following terms on Wikipedia

In 1981 the Moss Side area was one of England’s inner city areas affected by a series of riots. Analysts trace the 1970s origins of Manchester’s gang crime to social deprivation in the south-central part of the city — Hulme, Longsight and Moss Side — where it was difficult to make money by legitimate means. A parallel trade in illegal narcotics and firearms gave rise to Manchester’s nickname of “Gunchester”. “Turf wars” between rival drugs ‘gangs’, resulted in a high number of fatal shootings. During what has been termed the Madchester phase of the history of Manchester, narcotic trade in the city became “extremely lucrative” and in the early 1990s a gang war started between two groups vying for control of the market in Manchester city centre – the ‘Cheetham Hill Gang’ and The ‘Gooch Close Gang’, in Cheetham Hill and Moss Side respectively. There were several high profile shootings associated with gangs and drugs in this area during the 1990s and into the 21st century

Doesn’t it sound a lovely place?

The Eastlands area where they have moved to is not much better. It may have less reported shootings than Moss side, but it is not an area you’d like to be in after dark.

What does Wikipedia say about Manchester’s crime levels?

Based on the population estimates for 2005, crime levels in the city are considerably higher than the national average. Some parts of Manchester were adversely affected by its rapid urbanisation, resulting in high levels of crime in areas such as Moss Side and Wythenshawe.

The number of theft from a vehicle offences and theft of a vehicle per 1,000 of the population was 25.5 and 8.9 compared to the English national average of 7.6 and 2.9 respectively.

The number of sexual offences was 1.9 compared to the average of 0.9.

The national average of violence against another person was 16.7 compared to the Manchester average of 32.7.

The figures for crime statistics were all recorded during the 2006/7 financial year.

So, in Manchester you are more likely to be mugged, burgled assaulted, have you car stolen etc.

What does Wikipedia say about Newcastle?

Newcastle was in the top ten of the country’s top night spots, and

The Rough Guide to Britain placed Newcastle upon Tyne’s nightlife as Great Britain’s no. 1 tourist attraction.

In the Tripadvisor Travellers’ Choice Destination Awards for European Nightlife destinations, four of the UK’s nightspots finished in the top 10; Newcastle was awarded 3rd Place behind London, and Berlin. Newcastle also came in seventh for the World category

 So reader, I’ll leave it to you do decide which place is a sh*thole

I could go on at length given I have lived in both cities, but I’ll let Wikipedia speak for me

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

