The Chimps’ Tea Party

On Boxing Day, I went to see Newcastle v Man Chester City along with my Dad and Tom. Thanks for the ticket Dad. Sadly, the game was over after less than five minutes with Newcastle being 2-0 down by then. Too much turkey for the Newcastle defence it seems. The game ended 1-3 to Manchester City. The difference in the two sides was Carlos Tevez, he was outstanding and ran the show. Every time he got the ball, you feared he would score or set up a goal. I hate to admit it that he was rather good to watch.

After the game, we drove to Horsley to see Michelle, and were joined there by My mother and my brother Martin, my sister Jacqui and her partner Maurice and also by Michelle’s parent’s Liz & Keith and of course her son Josh. The Chimp’s tea party was underway.

Michelle played the perfect host, lots of good food, including an excellent chilli and a drink or two was available. A few belated Christmas presents were exchanged and lots of laughter and merriment was had. Eleven of us in one small room to eat and drink was a squeeze, but made for a good intimate contact.

I have to just say how hard it is to make a chilli that is mild enough for those who are wusses and hot enough for those who like it hot. Michelle managed that rather well by having a separate bowl of chopped chillies to be added to your portion according to taste.

I am however horrified at the behaviour of certain members of my family. I’ll mention no names, but a sister of mine got herself so drunk she lay down on the sofa and went to sleep. This on the first time she meets Michelle’s family. I can’t believe she would behave that way. You’d never catch me doing that – I prefer to throw up on the Vicar’s wife (long story for another day), or try flying off hotel balconies ( I am the Benidorm Balcony diving Champion for 1987)

SAM_0012SAM_0014SAM_0017Getting Drunker?

SAM_0024

Tom Gloats about his Drunken Auntie – notice the empties in front of her on the table

SAM_0025

Jacqui A Reveller Getting into the Swing of the Party

Apart from the drunkards, the night seemed to go well, judging by the number of empty bottles the following morning. To avoid a visit from the Health authorities lecturing on alcohol awareness, we surreptitiously distributed empty bottles amongst the neighbours re cycling bins.

Seriously, it was a good night – thanks to everyone for making it so.

SAM_0023

After everyone left, Michelle, Tom and I had a wind down drink – and managed to get through a 1 litre bottle of Vodka. All was going well until Michelle did her party pieces: throwing her wine over the table, carpet and floor and then falling asleep on the sofa.

Monday, not surprisingly was a rather slow day with it taking hours to motivate ourselves to do anything. We did eventually drive down to my parents to take Tom back there, and my father opened another couple of bottles of champagne. Well, it would be rude not to wouldn’t it.

After we returned to Michelle’s we had a quiet night in with a couple of more bottles of champagne and settled down to watch a film. Yes, quality viewing “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation”. Did we see it all? Nope, Did we see half of it? Nope.

So, what of today? Well, we are just heading off for a pub lunch, then no doubt, a quiet night in with wine, beer, cider, vodka etc.……

Reading over my blog recently, it may seem to you that there is a lack of cycling and an excess of alcohol. You’d clearly by 50% right, I’ve not been out on my bike for ages. The weather has been such that cycling has not been possible. I had intended to brink a bike up to Horsley to go out riding this week, but it’s simply not the weather for it. (Well that’s my excuse). As for the alcohol, I’m doing my bit to save Michelle’s liver. I am working on the basis that if I drink 1/2 the alcohol, it must reduce the chances of her getting cirrhosis. (Well that and I like a drink or three as well).

********************************************************************

Snow White didn’t achieve much in her life but she managed to turn one of the dwarves purple.
At least she dyed Happy

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chimps’ Tea Party

  1. Anonymous says:

    Judging by the typing errors in this post there is still a lot of alcohol in your blood stream!!!

Leave a Reply

