Back To University Days

This week finds me in temporary residence at the Midland Hotel in Manchester as part of the work I am doing inspecting the CPS.

Last week was spent in Nottingham. That is a City that has a lot of memories for me. I still remember the Nottingham miners scabbing during the miner’s strike in 1984/5. I still remember  being forced onto the pitch from the main stand at the end of the 1986/7 season. I remember Steve Stone scoring a goal that meant we could not win the league. I spent a lot of time there in 1997-1999 as well as my ex lived there, so its a city I know well.

When I was at University, I travelled to Nottingham to see Newcastle v Forest, and it took me 3 days to get home! The joys of alcohol! I wouldn’t have minded too much but when my mother rang my student digs, someone told her I’d probably been nicked. Cheers mates!

It is an interesting place.It is the capital of the East Midlands and has a lot of government agencies there. [Apologies to  Derby & Leicester, but Nottingham is the premier city in the region]. There is not much to report about my few days there. Work, hotel, eat, sleep. Exciting stuff eh?

The only interesting thing was the Power Station case i referred to in my post last Monday/ Tuesday. It has been interesting to see how people are willing to jump to conclusions based on inaccurate and clearly one sided cases in the newspaper. The left wing Guardian has published a series of partisan articles on the case that are as clearly inaccurate as they are one sided. There is little attempt to report partially (Newspapers are under no duty to be impartial). Reading numerous message boards discussing this subject, it seems that people are too willing to jump to conclusions and not prepared to accept there may be other sides to the story. To even suggest this is to open yourself to hostile invective. The irony of it is that the people who are so narrow minded fail to realise that I am actually of a similar opinion to them about the overall issues.

This weekend I went to Newcastle to see Michelle & her family. Smile As ever, it was all to short a time period. Probably not helped by going on Saturday to watch Spennymoor play at Ryton in the Skill Training Northern League, which is 9 divisions below the Premiership!

SAM_0055SAM_0056SAM_0057SAM_0058

[Ryton v Spennymoor – Luxury Facilities for the Mass Crowd]

As you can see from the photographs, its not exactly a premiership ground and its not exactly a full house either. Spennymoor won 2-0 in a game ruined by the weather. The pitch was like a bog, and the wind was blowing at gale force down the hill. It made Spennymoor’s 2nd half attack down the hill ineffective. The wind blew the ball faster than anyone could run, so the ball kept going out of play. Good job Spennymoor got 2 in the first half against the wind. It was important for Spennymoor to avoid injuries as they are playing away at Cadbury Heath on Saturday in the FA Vase. I went to the game with Michelle’s youngest son and Michelle as well. I think Michelle had the right idea to stay in the clubhouse in the warmth all the game rather than stand outside and watch the game. I was still feeling the cold hours later when we were at home after the game.

After the game, Michelle and I had a night alone as her two boys were out on the town or with their Dad respectively. So, being the romantic type, I cooked Michelle a candlelight meal washed down with a bottle (or 3) of wine. When I say candlelight, I of course mean that no one had ten bob for the electricity meter so we had to use candles.

Michelle say’s I have to tell you the meal was no ordinary meal, it was an S&M meal for £10. That’s right isn’t it Michelle?

We followed up this meal with a session on the sofa – that is a session of snoozing through Saturday night TV! That is TV meaning television before your dirty minds think otherwise!

Sunday brought an early start for Michelle as that much put upon lady drove me into town for a 09:00 rendezvous with a pint or two of ale before the trip to the great unwashed. (See other post for more on this). Obviously, we had to avoid going on the special trains/ Metros that had been put on for Newcastle fans and went on the ordinary service Metro. Its a point of principle! The principle is to be an awkward git and apparently I’m good at it.

SAM_0060

[The Stadium of Sh*te – can you spot the difference from Ryton’s ground?]

Back in Newcastle after the game, a few beers were had with the lads before Michelle drove into town to pick me up and take me home for a cracking Sunday dinner. That lady knows how to cook a meal Smile! If the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, then Michelle has my heart with her cooking, never mind the rest of the way she looks after me.

Some of you will remember my post from 31st October 2010 The Fridges of Northumberland County . Well, being a good Inspector, a follow up inspection  was obviously needed to see if things have been rectified. I can safely say that the fridges of Northumberland County that I re-examined are definitely not dirty. They are also well stocked with lots of rather nice food. Following this theme, I can confirm that the laundry basket and the ironing basket are also kept well stocked Winking smile. Obviously, you will appreciate that I am unable to name the location of these items.

I have been told that I have to say that most of the items in the 2 baskets are my clothing and that I create more washing and ironing than the rest of the household put together – will you stop hitting me now please Michelle?

I left Michelle’s this morning to head down to Manchester for work. It was nice to have a relatively leisurely drive down to Manchester as I was not expected to start work before lunchtime. I even had time to pop into the supermarket on the way down to buy some green tea as both myself and my colleague drink that at work! What an exciting life I lead. I won’t advertise which supermarket it was, but “every little helps”. It also helps that there is an “Express store” next to the offices we are inspecting! Not hard to remember in those circumstances.

Manchester was of course where I spent 3 happy years as a student in the Hacienda and listening to the Smith’s. It is good to see a few old haunts Smile I just hope the CPS aren’t doing what The Smiths sing about.

 

People ask me is this blog true? All I can say is I’ve been a compulsive liar since I was a month old.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Football, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

