Nearly Barking?

Its been about 10 days since I have posted a blog about what is happening in my life other than football. The answer is erm…….. work, pleasure, sadness, etc.

I spent last week in the beautiful Tyne Valley staying with Michelle whilst I was working at Teesside Crown Court. This meant driving 110 miles per day to get too/ from the court. I was leaving home around 0715, getting to Middlesbrough around 0845 and getting home around 1845 each evening. I normally cycle to work and have to say that is preferable to sitting in the car for 3 hours a day.

At Teesside Crown Court we were carrying out observations of the level of advocacy of the prosecutors, whether CPS employees (Crown advocates) or member if the independent Bar. As happened last week, it was difficult to find trials that were proceedings. Most trials seemed not to proceed, often (but not always) because the defendant pleads guilty on the trial date.

I’m sure that members of the public would be surprised to see how much down time there is at court. There is often good reason why there are delays in cases proceeding, but it is difficult for the uninitiated to know why the case is not progressing. Sometimes delays are caused by the need to deal with late arising witness issues, sometimes its to deal with a legal point, but sometimes it is because people have not done what they should have done.

On Monday 28th, I bumped into Nick a barrister and a director of Kyles Legal Practice Ltd which is an innovative and new legal firm made up of barristers and solicitors. I have known Nick for many years since he was a law student. He arranged to meet me and a fellow director Brian for dinner the following night. I used to instruct Brian when I was a solicitor in the North East, but have not seen him for a good few years now. This was an unexpected bonus. On Tuesday, unfortunately Nick was called to a police station, but it was good to have a meal and catch up with Brian.

I was able to speak again to both of them on Friday as well. I know that if I ever found myself in need of legal representation in criminal matters that I would instruct Brian or Nick.

It was also very interesting to learn about their business plan and I have to say it rekindled my interest in criminal defence work. Would I ever go back into criminal work in private practice?……..

I drove back to London on Sunday afternoon after spending 17 days with Michelle, including her significant birthday. We dined out a couple of times with my parents. We went last Friday to Fratellis in Ponteland (that is Michelle my parents, my sister and I) followed by a couple of drinks in the Diamond Inn at Ponteland. An evening with my parents that made me think, we have to look after and watch children when we take them out, and once they have grown up we have to look after our parents. Yes father, I am referring to you!

I have to confess to being spoilt something good by Michelle, packed lunches every day. Great and I mean great home cooking every evening. My laundry done for me. The lady is too good to let go. That is why I lock her in the house every time I leave Winking smile.

It seems strange to be on my own again in London. Not that I will be alone for long. Michelle, Josh and Michelle’s parents will be coming down on Friday night, so I will be busy this week cleaning the house. Anyone know any decent cleaners? I will of course not be cleaning tomorrow night as I will be watching Leyton Orient v Plymouth Argyle and a chance to watch Old Monkey’s Head – Peter Reid.

Today, Monday I went to work in the office. So what you say, what is special about that? Well after so many weeks on the road, it was nice to be back at the office. Also, today was the first day at our new offices. Sadly we are no longer overlooking St James’s Park but we are now very near the Masonic Temple in Covent Garden. Upon arrival by bike today, I was given my new security pass and shown to the underground bike storage and shown the showers etc. All good until I went to go home and realised that no one had told me how to get out of the basement bike storage. The exit I eventually discovered is at the opposite end of the building to the entrance. I was worrying that I would be trapped in the basement all night.

The new offices are slightly nearer to my home. This is not good news as it will mean a reduction in mileage each day unless I add on extra bits. Still, I got 25+ miles in today.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

