Ground Hopping: Blackpool v Newcastle United FC 23rd April 2011

St George’s Day brought the long awaited trip to see Newcastle @ Blackpool. This was the highlight of the fixture list when it came out in June 2010. A trip to Blackpool on a weekend, a bank holiday weekend at that! Great Smile

I will be posting a separate post re the day itself. This is just re the ground & the game.

I had been to Bloomfield Road the home of Blackpool twice before, in 1983 and again in 1987. The latter for a League Cup game involving Newcastle when we lost 1-0 to an own goal scored by a former Newcastle player. That was in the days of the “Sack the Board” Campaign. I got a ticket from my cousin, a Blackpool fan and then a supplier to the club, so my ticket was in the Directors box. It probably was not a good idea for me to be standing there chanting for the sacking of the Newcastle board.

Well since then, Blackpool have rebuilt their ground and have 4 new stands – the one we were in is a hurriedly built thing after Blackpool unexpectedly won promotion to the Premiership last season.

The ground is small, and the 3 permanent stands look good. I’m not sure the same can be said for the one we were in. £34 should buy you a better view than a new stand with lots of pillars in it.

SAM_0432

The view for away fans – not very good is it?

SAM_0433

The ground itself is handily placed for the town centre, the pubs and is surrounded by 1000s of parking spaces, normally used by tourists not football fans.

There is not much more to tell re the game. Blackpool turned up, the Newcastle team obviously forgot there was a game today. There was a distinct lack of effort and passion about the team and it is fair to say Newcastle were lucky to escape with a 1-1 draw. The day made worse by learning the Mackems had gone from 0-1 down to win 4-2 Crying face

Still there was the night out to come – read my next blog post which will hopefully tell something of the day.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

