Friends Reunited

Sometimes its the simple things in life that give you the greatest pleasures. Its so often the case that you can have the happiest most enjoyable times without spending large sums of money.

A walk in the meadows with a loved one on a beautiful sunny day with a loved one can be far more pleasurable than spending £00s on a meal or drinks at a posh hotel.

Today was an example of such a day. The weather was glorious as I cycled to  or from work. The fact I was cycling was a pleasure in itself. Far more pleasurable than getting public transport.

Riding along quiet roads as most people are on holiday. Riding whilst wearing shorts and a short sleeved lycra top is a good feeling in the warn sun.

Getting to work and finding the office is quiet as most people are on leave was good. It became even better when RM bought cakes to celebrate his birthday. Even better when he had bought cakes for the whole office, so there were loads to go round.

I even managed to raise some more sponsorship today, including an incredibly generous donation of $200 from one of my work colleagues. Their generosity is incredible and I am touched by it.. I have not spoken to the donor today, so do not know why they have been so generous.

Other good things since my last post include learning that Spennymoor Town won 6-1 at home last night. The significance of that is that it means Spennymoor have won the Northern League for the 2nd year running. The Northern League is the 2nd oldest football league in the world. I’m delighted they won the league, but am sad that I was not able to be there to see it.

Even better is that I have managed to avoid watching all the TV hype regarding the Royal Wedding this Friday. The British media are great at overkill. Hours and hours of programmes already on TV telling us allsorts of things we don’t need to know or even to want to know.

However, none of this compares to the best pleasure of the day. I rode to work today on my fixed wheel bike. Its the first time I have ridden this bike for a good while. It is so pleasurable to ride the bike. There are no gears to worry about. Having no free wheel means you have to keep pedalling and you break by using your legs – i.e. resisting the movement of the pedals. So simple and so much fun. It was like being reunited with an old dear friend once again.

Guess which bike I’ll be riding tomorrow to and from work.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Football, My Life, Police Unity Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friends Reunited

  1. Let’s just imagine you have gone out with the family on vacation, but there is something nagging at you. There maybe some mobile photo studio available in your area, so start to <. Today, there are a lot of companies focusing on various plumbing works like installation of plumbing systems and upkeep work in case of malfunctions.

  2. Unless you’re using home grown stuff, you’re probably
    putting hundreds of chemicals into your body that can quite possibly lead to merchant account for medicinal marijuana addictiveness becoming a real issue
    for you. According to groundwork, these properties can benefit treat
    illnesses like migraines, Tourette’s
    and OCD, glaucoma, INCREASE and ADHD, cancer, seizures, several sclerosis, AIDs, Alzheimer’s and lots more illnesses.
    You really can learn a lot by looking into the deeper,
    symbolic meaning your dreams have.

  3. Unless you’re using home grown stuff, you’re probably putting
    hundreds of chemicals into your body that can quite possibly lead
    to marijuana dispensary merchant account addictiveness
    becoming a real issue for you. In the trial court’s view, the evaluation was “most cursory.
    Legality of Use of medicinal marijuana dispensary
    merchant account as Religious Sacrament.

Leave a Reply

