I love Rock n’ Roll

 

I saw him dancin’ there by the record machine
I knew he must a been about seventeen
The beat was goin’ strong
Playin’ my favorite song
An’ I could tell it wouldn’t be long
Till he was with me, yeah me
And I could tell it wouldn’t be long
Till he was with me, yeah me, singin’

I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come and take your time and dance with me

Ow!

He smiled so I got up and asked for his name
That don’t matter, he said,
‘Cause it’s all the same
Said can I take you home where we can be alone
An’ next we were movin’ on
He was with me, yeah me
Next we were movin’ on
He was with me, yeah me, singin’

I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with me

Ow!

Said can I take you home where we can be alone
Next we were movin’ on
He was with me, yeah me,
An we’ll be movin’ on
An’ singin’ that same old song
Yeah with me, singin’

I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with me
I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with
I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with
I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with
I love rock n’ roll
So put another dime in the jukebox, baby
I love rock n’ roll
So come an’ take your time an’ dance with me

With apologies to Joan Jett

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland Ohio was the place I ended up today.

I did not know that Cleveland was the home of rock & Roll until Michael T told me last night. Then co incidentally, today, Tiffany had decided to take me there! God works in mysterious ways!

Rock and roll has been part of Cleveland’s fabric from its beginnings in the 1950s through the opening of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in 1995 and up to today, with Kid Cudi rocking the iPod, and Ante Up Studios recording the groove of the future.

Cleveland has always loved rock and roll, and its role in rock is a critical one. The Ohio city helped lay rock’s foundation at Record Rendezvous on Prospect Avenue near Cleveland’s Public Square.

Picture this downtown record store packed with teens eager to shell out their money for the latest tunes. The listening booths are jammed, and the music is loud and sweaty. It bugs parents. The kids love it. The music’s got a beat, and while the style still lacks a name, this blend of rhythm & blues, country music and the blues is starting to coalesce as rock and roll.

Rock came together in American urban centers like Cleveland after World War II. Cleveland was prospering from the steel and automobile industries, its labor force swelled by people who moved from the South in search of a better life, their taste for “race” music and hillbilly music in tow.

The term “rock and roll” was mainstreamed by Record Rendezvous owner Leo Mintz and WJW-AM deejay Alan Freed. It became a brushfire when deejay Bill Randle squired Elvis Presley into some of his first shows north of the Mason Dixon Line—in Cleveland. It established what would become the baby-boomer soundtrack in the Sixties over legendary Cleveland AM stations WIXY, WHK, WERE and WJW. It became big business in the Seventies and Eighties, when Cleveland brothers Jules and Mike Belkin mounted extravaganzas like the World Series of Rock at the Municipal Stadium.

I have to say that the Hall of Fame is a fantastic museum. Tiffany and I spent some 6+ hours in there today, and I could easily have spent more time there. Sadly, pictures were not allowed to be taken inside the museum, so I can’t show you the exhibits.

The museum trip starts off with some interactive displays allowing you to listen to early artists that were the fore runners of RnR. There are some very good time lines including:

Mersey Beat

LA

San Francisco

Seattle,

Detroit

Memphis

Punk Rock

These timelines all had memorabilia and video footage and montages. Fascinating viewing. Obviously there are large sections on Elvis Presley and The Beatles, but not on Cliff Richard or The Brotherhood of Man.

Two floors at the top of the museum are dedicated at present to “WOMEN WHO ROCK” This includes all the women you’d expect, except Suzi Quattro and Kylie, but it does include Britney Spears. Personally, I think it should have been two floors dedicated to Debbie Harry and Clare Grogan.

 

You may be wondering what is the relevance of these pictures to this blog. The answer is there is no relevance other than my lusting after them!

The 3rd floor is the hall of fame itself and there is an 81 minute film taking you through all the inductees into the Hall of Fame from 1988 to date. Ringo Starr is the only ex Beatle not to be in there as a solo artist!

Artists inducted more than once:

The museum really should be on the “Bucket List” of all music lovers. It really is that good a museum. There are some great exhibits and some brilliant music. I have to say that six hours were not enough and I could easily have spent longer there.

SAM_0966

SAM_0959SAM_0960SAM_0961

Cleveland itself is a lovely city from what I saw of it. It is a city built on the steel mills which dominate the town. The town has clearly been through hard times and is coming through the same. There is a fascinating mix of old warehouses and buildings next to new buildings.

SAM_0964SAM_0965

SAM_0939SAM_0940

Cleveland was also where they filmed “A Christmas Story” film. The two pictures below are at the scene of the house in the film. One for film buff, I know

SAM_0953SAM_0954

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I love Rock n’ Roll

  1. Anonymous says:

    Are you trying to upset Kylie again? Just a quick mention and no picture!

  2. Anonymous says:

    very good this is Peter this by the way is your little brother typing this to you over there in the U S of a .

  3. Anonymous says:

    you must do more of this sort of thing Peyter when you are on your travels round this great big world of ours by ours I mean mankinds not yours and mine by the way .

Leave a Reply

