Run Forest Run

Well, its nearly 2 weeks since my last post, so I thought I’d put pen to paper (or is that finger to keypad?)

Well, what has happened since my last post?

Well Britain is officially suffering from a drought Britain Facing Drought.

Wales has had snowfall Snow on Mount Snowdon

England produce the most unlikely win in the cricket against Sri Lanka, a test match played in Wales. Yes England play home matches in Wales Test Match Special.

Still it was more than our grossly overpaid footballers managed against Switzerland at Wembley. Waste of Money

However, the real news has been the sacking of Cheryl Cole from the US version of the X Factor Hadaway & Sh*te Pet. Could I care less?

Me? What have I been up to?

Well I went back to work for the first time in 26 days. It was strange having to get up and get ready for work. The only good thing was the weather was excellent so cycling into work was no hardship.

So to make it hard I decided to get up early and go for a run before I cycled to work. I ran to the park at the end of my street and did a lap of the park. I ran a total of 1.36 miles at a very slow pace. In fact, I’m sure Eddie Kidd passed me! This run was significant for me as it is the first time I have tried running since my accident on 5th November 2009. I was unsure if I would be able to run at all.

I was very pleased with myself, but did suffer the next few days with stiffness in my thighs, but no problems from my knee.

Thursday and Friday brought no cycling owing to work & medical issues. Thursday I had to go to the doctor’s as I had a recurrence of cellulitis in my leg. This was caused as a result of a break in the skin in my leg whilst cutting the grass. After being hospitalised in 1998 by this, I am always pro active in seeking medical treatment whenever I get even a slight infection in my leg.

Friday, I had to travel up to our York office to deliver some Excel training, so had a very early start and had to be on a train at Kings Cross before 8am. The good thing was I was going to Newcastle to see Michelle for the weekend, so this got me nearer her. I managed to get to Newcastle before 4pm and was in the Boathouse pub at Wylam by about 4:10pm that afternoon having a refreshing pint whilst waiting for Michelle to collect me. SmileA great little pub this, with 12 real ales on tap – its well worth a visit.

Friday night brought a night out in Ponteland with a few drinks in an unusually quiet Diamond Pub and then a meal at our favourite restaurant Fratelli’s. Sorry Tom, you have missed out once again!

Saturday brought a day out at the seaside for Michelle and I. Sadly, the weather had turned from the gorgeous day on Friday. The forecast was for wind and showers, especially on the coast. So like idiots, or romantics, we headed off to the coast. We went up to Boulmer and had lunch at the Fishing Boat Inn which we have visited before. The first time Michelle took me there, we bumped into the local vicar from Wylam area. He obviously did not know that Michelle and I were a couple, but never missed a beat in chatting to us. I do wonder what he thought as he left the pub.

After lunch we went for a bracing walk towards Alnmouth from Boulmer along the beach. It was rather bracing, especially so when you both are wearing shorts and a light summer top. We probably only walked 3-4 miles, but it was enough in that weather.

Sunday brought a trip into the Discovery Museum in Newcastle primarily to look at the Newcastle United exhibition as it closes later this month. The museum is a fascinating look back at life on Tyneside over the years and is well worth a visit. The Newcastle United exhibition is as one would expect, rather popular on Tyneside. Sad to think that yesterday (11th June was the 42nd anniversary of Newcastle winning the European Inter Cities Fairs Cup – our last major trophy!)

We then went for a late Sunday lunch ( ok early evening meal) at the Blackbird Pub in Ponteland. Surprisingly it is hard to find somewhere serving Sunday dinner/ lunch at 4pm on a Sunday!

An early night is necessary on a Sunday as I was as usual, booked on the 0630 train to London from Newcastle. Sadly, I have to head back to London for work.

I managed to cycle to work Tuesday through Friday this week. Trying to find a quick route through the various road works is a task beyond me it seems. Whichever route I took, I got stuck in road works. However, it was good to be riding my fixed wheel bike again. It is rather comforting to have an old friend back.

I managed to get a couple of runs in before work, on Tuesday & Thursday, each slightly longer than the last one at 1.69 miles and 1.89 miles. However, Thursday was difficult as I appear to have tweaked a muscle in the back of my knee. This hurt when I got up on Thursday morning, and I think was caused by my lounging on the sofa on the Wednesday night.

This weekend, I was not seeing Michelle. It seemed very odd to be heading home alone to an empty house on Friday. Actually Friday was a strange day as it was lovely weather cycling in to work and home, but at lunchtime there was thunder and lightning!

Saturday was a chance for me to get to Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club for the first time in a couple of months. This is not very good when I am both Chairman and Child Welfare Officer. That was Saturday morning taken care of. The rest of the day was a day of leisure apart from a trip to the supermarket.

Sunday was/ is a rather wet and miserable day here in London. I motivated myself to get out running again and this time not only managed to hit the 2 mile target I had set, but increased it and did 3 miles today. The time was incredibly slow, but that doesn’t matter as I have not run 3 miles in one go for many years, possibly 20+ years. So I’m feeling quite proud of myself.

Watch out Forest I’m after running after you. I should stress this running is not at the expense of my cycling and I intend to keep cycling to work as well. There is a purpose to all this, and its partly because since we moved offices on 1st April, my commute to work is approximately 2 miles shorter now.

This next week is a significant week for me in a number of respects and I intend to enjoy the week, but keep up the running and cycling.

Till next time, please try not to worry too much about poor Cheryl Cole losing her job on the X Factor USA. I know its hard to concentrate on life with such tragedy befalling her, but try to cope.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

