Pulling My Finger Out

My school report?
My latest work appraisal?
Michelle’s instructions to me?

Alternatively, it COULD be referring to my lack of postings on here in last month.

So, what has been happening? Well nothing exciting in my personal life compared to usual.

Last weekend, Michelle helped me celebrate a special anniversary. I can’t believe that so much time has passed. The celebrations were more muted than I had planned BUT I intend to make up for that in the (hopefully near) future.

I managed to motivate myself enough to cycle to work 4 days this week; on the other day I did not attend the office! I now have so much stuff @ Michelle’s house that I can cycle to work on a Friday & do not need to take a weekend bag with me! I wonder if Michelle realises I am moving in with her by stealth. I’ve already made friends with Charlie & Ruby (the dogs) & hopefully got them on my side! All I need now is to befriend the dick, Richard next door. He is one weird bloke & the neighbour from hell.

This weekend has the potential to be good, very good in fact. I’m typing this with a glass of wine in my hand as I am heading to Newcastle to see Michelle 🙂

Tomorrow Michelle, Josh & I are planning to go to York for the day. Michelle to go shopping with my mummy whilst Josh & I meet Tom & my dad @ York Racecourse for the annual Cycling Touring Club Rally. Basically its a change to hand over lots of money to bike shops for bits of kit.

Saturday night, Michelle, Tom and Josh are going to take me for my first ever visit to the temperance festival on the Town Moor in Newcastle. You may know it better as the Hoppings. People won’t believe that at my age I have never been before. It would have been good to have also gone to Newcastle Races tomorrow for the Pitman’s Derby, The Northumberland Plate but it clashes with York rally. Wonder if I’ll be allowed any candy floss @ the fair? I hope not as I hate it!

Then, sunday is the National Cycling Road Race @ Stamfordham which is just a few miles from Michelle’s house so we are intending to watch that. The field is a who’s who of British Cycling including:
Mark Cavendish
Bradley Wiggins
Gerraint Thomas
Peter Kennaugh
Ben Swift
Russell Downing

It is pleasing to see graduates of Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club riding including Andrew Griffiths & Joe Perrett. It is heartening to know that the club has been able to produce top class cyclists.

Sadly, on Monday I have to head back to work but I am going back on a slightly later & much faster train. It is only 2hrs 38 mins to London on it- faster than even I can drive it.

The good news from the last week is that I have finally settled my accident claim from November 2009. The cheque is in my possession, so I’m off to buy Mr Abramovich’s yacht off him & buy out the fat cockney @ Newcastle United. Ok, I’m more likely to buy a bottle of wine & a kebab with the size of the cheque. It is nice to be able to put the matter behind me though.

The bad news from the last week is the government’s proposals for basically abolishing the access to legal aid for many people & many categories of legal case.

Arrested & worried about what is happening to you as you know you are innocent but police think you are guilty, well worry whether you will be retrospectively billed for legal advice by the state after a retrospective means enquiry upon your release.

Case against you is rubbish & dropped / dismissed in magistrates’ court you can have limited costs reimbursed by state. However if case is dropped or dismissed in Crown Court & you get nothing in way of costs. This is irrespective of why it is dropped or why it went to the Crown Court.
Let me give an example. You are arrested for rape after girl you had consensual sex with makes allegation to hide fact from her boyfriend/spouse she was playing away. Rape is indictable only & must be sent to Crown Court & you are remanded in custody as its a serious allegation. You pay legal costs to solicitors to track down witnesses as you do not qualify for Legal Aid. Witnesses confirm girl is lying. She subsequently admits it to police & case is dropped. You are totally innocent but left potentially hundreds if not thousands of pounds out of pocket & face losing your home etc to pay to defend spurious allegation brought against you by the state. Is that justice?

I will no doubt revert to this topic again in due course in future posts.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pulling My Finger Out

  1. bitsat exam says:

    blog is too gud and its helpful for readers really nice blog…

Leave a Reply

