Drive My Car?

I remember many years ago my father telling me that cars cost a fortune to buy and then a fortune to run. This was back in the days of Thatcherism when it seemed that everyone wanted to own a car. Remember “Basildon Man” aka “Mondeo Man” who was said to be responsible for the Tories winning elections in 1979,1983, 1987 and 1992?

This was the era when Margaret Thatcher is alleged to have said

A man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure.

I say allegedly as no one seems able to say when it was allegedly said by her. My dad wasn’t far wrong. He just forgot to mention how frustrating they are and keep going wrong at inopportune moments.

Anyway, after years of having flash cars, I finally grew up and have a functional car rather than flash. I have an 11 year old car and have owned it for nearly 7 years now. Its always soldiered on with an annual service and MOT, and not much more attention.

Well, it seems that the car has decided to take its revenge on me.

Broken_Car

Firstly, I noticed it was leaking diesel onto my drive. I booked it into the garage hoping that perhaps it only needed a fuel pipe replacing or repairing. Sadly not, it needed a whole new fuel tank. Whilst this expensive part was being replaced, I also decided to have the air conditioning fixed. That of course was expensive as well. It also signalled the end of the hot weather spell we had been having.

Never mind, the car would be sorted for many months…….

Well, two days later, the engine management light started coming on and the power of the engine was limited. The car would not do above 2500 revs and it meant disability scooters were going faster up hills than me. This however was an intermittent fault and only kicked in when I needed the car to get me somewhere fast. Who says cars don’t have minds of their own?

Well back to the garage and 3 days trying to track down the fault. Obviously, the car behaves as though there is no fault when the garage try to diagnose it. The engine management system is not showing any fault when the diagnostics are checked.

Eventually, the car slips up and reveals a fault to the garage and the garage is able to diagnose a fault in a sensor. A whole £30 of parts needed. That is all it costs.

So now, the car is fully repaired and working well? Well, not quite as 2 days later, I notice a slight leak of fuel again from near the petrol tank, so its back again to the garage. I’m on first name terms with them now. This time its a quick diagnosis and a seal just needs to be fitted properly. It was only a small gap and only noticeable when tank was filled to the brim.

This was fixed at no cost to me. Now, can I get the car to the MOT in November/ December without any further problems? Well car, are you going to behave?

basilfawltycar595

FIXING MY CAR

 

The fact I live in London is a plus at times like this as I cycle to work, have excellent public transport if I need to go anywhere, living near tube, train and bus services. I am also in walking distance of several supermarkets.

So, I suppose I should really count myself lucky and stop whingeing. Well that is what everyone else tells me.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

