Please Dig Deep and Sponsor Me for a Fantastic Cause.

Once again this year, I have been fortunate enough to get a place on the Police Unity Tour bike ride from East Hanover in New Jersey to Washington DC. This is a sponsored ride and I am asking each and everyone of you to sponsor me. No matter how small a donation, every penny helps.

The biggest difficulty in raising the sponsorship money is that it is for a foreign charity that does not operate here in the UK. Also, big burly police officers are not as cute or touching on the heart-strings as fluffy little dogs, kittens or even children or the sick. Raising sponsorship money is not easy when people are facing pay freezes, pay reductions or even redundancy. There is a general lack of funds in people’s purses and wallets to donate to this cause.

Last year over 160 police officers were killed in the USA doing their job. This equates to nearly one killed every other day. All those killed are somebody’s child and or somebody’s partner or somebody’s parent. The loved ones are suddenly left without the breadwinner.

Whatever your views about the police, no one deserves to die simply doing their job. Over 20,000 police officers have died doing their job in the USA.

The Police Unity Tour has several purposes:

1. The main one is to raise money for those who died.

2. The ride also allows law enforcement officials to express their solidarity and support as part of a community.

3. The ride allows those who have been bereaved to join with the law enforcement officers and experience the support of the community. This I know is very helpful to those who have joined the ride

4. The ride and the riders in Washington DC for the Candlelight Vigil on 13th May is a demonstration to the bereaved that they are not alone and that they have support from the law enforcement world.

I know that money is tight for everyone at present, but spare the cost of a couple of drinks or a cinema ticket to support this cause that helps those who ave lost loved ones who made the ultimate sacrifice serving their community as a civilian

Use the donate now button on the main page and give a few pounds or dollars. Please help me to that target. Click on the link here to donate   http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/peter-bennett/2012-police-unity-tour—chapter-i or send any donation to me directly. If you need my address, please contact me via this blog by leaving a comment or email/ text me

Thanks

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Cycling, My Life, Police Unity Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

