February 29th!!!!!

bright-red-heart

I’ve been asked by so many people today if anything happened yesterday

So we were out for a drink in my local when my girlfriend went down on one knee in front of me.

It was the best kidney punch I’ve ever thrown

I am of course not telling the truth. As some of you know, if I tried that to Michelle, I’d come off the worst.

Nothing so exiting for me yesterday. I spent the day at work sitting through a series of meetings, including one 3.5 hour meeting.  No opportunity for romance when talking about fraud bribery and corruption. I suppose I could have tried bribing Michelle to fraudulently pretend she wanted to marry me. But that would be corrupt.

The meetings formed part of the planning of a major piece of work we have coming up. It is actually quite exciting as the report on this piece of work will definitely hit the headlines in the national media. It is a very political job and one with lots of very nervous people fearing what the report may say. Sadly, at present I cannot reveal any details about the work.

Relief of a form came yesterday, no not because I avoided a marriage proposal [ Michelle, you know what the answer would be if you had asked], but because I received my new passport from the Passport Office. Why relief? Well I am off to the USA in May for the Police Unity Tour (PUT). My old passport expired last December. I disposed of the old expired passport without realising it had to be sent to Passport Office with my application for a new passport.

I therefore had to fill in a lost passport form as well as my new passport application. These were posted off on 21st February,  some 10-11 weeks before I am due to leave for the USA. I was worried I may have to make a personal application for an expedited passport. Yet on 28th February, the passport office issued a new passport and I received this yesterday. I immediately applied for and obtained my ESTA clearance to get into the USA.

This was a relief to have this all sorted. I also received a couple of emails from fellow riders from the USA about the Police Unity Tour. All seemed to be heading smoothly in preparation for the PUT. However, this morning I woke up to the sad news about the suicide of PC Rathband in Blyth. A sad reminder that it is not just in the USA that officers put their lives on the line serving their communities.

This weekend sees the biggest football match of the season in the North East, and I’m pleased to be able to say that I will be there. The tensions are rising. Internet message boards are full of taunts and bragging about the game. Come kick off time, its 90 minutes of battling to see who gets the bragging rights for the rest of the season. Here’s hoping Spennymoor Town can win at Whitley Bay in the top http://www.northernleague.org/ game

of the season. Oh and then on Sunday I’m off to watch the Newcastle v S*nderland derby at St James’ Park.

What is even better this weekend is that I get to see Michelle.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

