Hypocritical?

A few things in recent days have made me think that some people can’t help being hypocrites (I know you are probably thinking it is hypocritical of me to say this).

Yesterday morning, whilst cycling the long way to work (25 miles instead of 12!), I rode into a private housing estate  near my home. It was around 0730 and an Asian male was putting his 2 daughters into the car to take them to school or pre school club. As I rode past them, he shouted that I should not be riding my bike on the estate as I was “not from round here”. I was a little taken aback at this attitude and stopped and asked him what he’d think if I told him he shouldn’t be in this country as “he wasn’t from round here”. He told me he’d be offended and would report me to the police for racism!

Is it just me or is that not a tad hypocritical? On the one hand he tells someone to leave an area they are lawfully in because they are not from round here, but if someone says the same to him, he would report it to the police!

 

Next was an incident in the Scottish FA Cup Semi Final on Sunday. With just 3 minutes of normal time remaining, Celtic scored an equalising goal, despite one of their players being in an offside position. Three minutes later, Celtic conceded a debatable penalty when, perhaps harshly, their player was deemed to have handled the ball. Hearts scored the penalty and therefore won 2-1. Immediately after the full time whistle, the Celtic manager ran 50 yards across the pitch to berate the referee for the penalty. He has also slated the referee in the media and accused the referee of a personal vendetta against him. Strangely, the ginger whinger seems to have forgotten the offside goal Celtic were awarded.

Two controversial decisions resulting in two goals, one for each side, yet Lennon can only come out which pathetic comments like he is the victim of a vendetta. Its a tad hypocritical to slate the referee as biased against him when he gave one decision to each side

 

Then in a recent thread on a cycling forum, we have a cyclist saying that invalid scooters should be banned from the road because:

  1. They travel to slowly
  2. They don’t have insurance
  3. They don’t pay road tax

These are exactly the same nonsensical arguments used against cyclists by some motorists! So its a tad hypocritical to use the same arguments against another group of road users isn’t it?

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

