Stupidity & Madness Part 2

Sadly, its not another  blog about the Nutty Boys from North London. This time the madness and stupidity is all my own doing.

So, I got back to London on Monday and went to work. When I arrived home – after falling asleep on the train on the way home from work! D’oh! – I had to fettle my fixed wheel bike. I’ve not ridden it for a while and my touring bike/ commuting bike is in the shop for repairs. I sorted out what needed doing to it, mainly fixing a puncture and putting pump etc. on bike.

First problem – I couldn’t get the tyre off the rim. Have you seen tyre levers being pinged across the room and heard some great Anglo Saxon language. Its a fact that lots of cursing and swearing assists the job.

Eventually the tyre was off the rim, but it was badly cut and worn and needed replacing. I knew I had a replacement tyre for that bike. The problem was that I didn’t know where it was. I never realised there were so many places one could look for a tyre in a house. I eventually found the new tyre and was able to fit it without having to resort to cursing.

Tuesday morning, up early and ready to go to work. Well, I would be if I could find my cycling shoes. Que lots of cursing and hunting before they were found. Next get my Garmin GPS device and fit that. No problems in finding it as I knew exactly where it was. What I hadn’t done was to charge it though – D’oh a flat GPS is not much use.

Still, I had tome to charge the GPS whilst I tried to find where I had put my heart rate monitor. I remembered that I had carefully put it somewhere safe on Thursday night. All I had to do was remember where that was. The remaining few brain cells didn’t want to co-operate, so once again it was search the house time. [Note to self – it would be quicker and easier to search once for everything missing]. This time I was unable to find the HRM, so gave that up as a bad job.

All that was needed know was to put on my cycling top. Oh no, another item I can’t find. It will be with the folded washing waiting to be hung up I hope – no its not. It was still in the washing machine unwashed from last week. It was nearly able to ride the bike to work on its own.

So, eventually I was able to set off for work. I got 150 yards down the street and remembered I needed to take my work pass, so it was time to return home and get it.

I did eventually manage to get to work, but when getting dressed after my shower at work, I realised I had forgotten my deodorant. Good job my colleague was there and lent me his. Then when putting on my socks, I managed to split one of them in to two pieces.

I started to think I should have stayed in bed.

Talking of bed, I woke up Wednesday morning and could hear the wind blowing.I laid there debating whether I would cycle to work in strong winds and after 5 mins or so decided I would not risk riding in the strong winds. After deciding my safety is more important and that by not cycling I could have 5 more minutes in bed, I suddenly realised that wind noise was the bedroom fan that I had put on last night to keep me cool! D’oh!

I won’t mention my trying to cook jacket potatoes in the oven I had not turned on.

I think the senility is setting in early! Am I too young to be going senile?

Now one final thought, you may be wondering why I am suddenly blogging again. Well the explanation for this post is simple. Michelle is coming down for the weekend, and I am supposed to be decontaminating the house before she arrives with her white inspection gloves. So, its obvious that blogging is a great distraction from cleaning!

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stupidity & Madness Part 2

  1. Pingback: Stupidity & Madness Part 2 | Building Inspections in Adelaide

Leave a Reply

