Cycling & Today’s Olympics

Today, the major news story coming out of the Olympics is cycling related.Sadly though it is not making the headline news, although it is by far the most important event of the day. Tucked away on the BBC news website is the following story:

Cyclist dies in Olympic media bus crash

Olympic Park The accident happened close to the Olympic Park hockey pitches

A cyclist has been killed in a crash with an Olympic media bus on the border of the Olympic Park in east London.

The man, believed to be aged 30, was injured just before 19:45 BST at the junction of Ruckholt Road and East Cross Road, Hackney.

Police and an air ambulance attended but the man was pronounced dead at the scene about half an hour later.

"The police are investigating and our thoughts are with the cyclist’s family," Olympic organisers Locog said.

No arrests have been made in connection with the incident.

‘Tragic’ death

The crash happened close to the Olympic hockey centre, velodrome and Paralympic tennis arena.

The victim has not yet been identified, but an International Olympic Committee source told BBC London he was not an Olympic competitor.

Locog said in a statement: "We can confirm that a cyclist tragically died as a result of a collision with a bus carrying media from the Olympic Park this evening."

Following the collision no buses were allowed to arrive or depart from the Media Transport Mall’s multi-story car park.

The Olympic Park internal shuttle remains operational.

The incident is being investigated by the Met’s Traffic Investigation Unit.

One of the things everyone who attends the monthly bike ride known as Critical Mass has in common is a desire to improve the safety on the roads for cyclists. Last Friday during the Olympic Opening Ceremony, 183 cyclists were arrested for doing nothing more than riding their bikes. The police being determined to brown nose the IOC and prevent any form of expression of will other than that approved by the corporate bribe payers sponsors. It is therefore sadly ironic that today, less than 120 hours later, a cyclist is killed near the Olympic Park by an Official Olympic Vehicle.

I do not know the cause of the accident and do not intend to speculate as to who was to  blame. What however is highlighted by this accident is the danger caused for cyclists by the lack of proper provision for them. Perhaps Critical Mass have proven right in their highlighting the dangers caused by the Olympic Route Network (ORN)

It is also ironic that this tragic death came on the day of the Olympic Time Trials in the cycling. I had intended to write this night’s blog about the time trial and in particular the success of the (hopefully soon to be knighted) Bradley Wiggins

Bradley-Wiggins-sits-on-a-010

Who can fail to admire the success of this man, having won 4 Olympic gold medals including being only the second person ever to win the Tour de France and the Olympic time Trial in the same year.

Best of British

  • Bradley Wiggins (cycling): seven medals – four gold, one silver, two bronze
  • Sir Steve Redgrave (rowing): six – five gold, one bronze
  • Sir Chris Hoy (track cycling): five – four gold, one silver
  • Jack Beresford (rowing): five – three gold, two silver
  • Henry Taylor (swimming): five – three gold, two bronze
  • Sir Matthew Pinsent (rowing): four – four gold
  • Paulo Radmilovic (water polo): four – four gold
  • Ben Ainslie (sailing): four – three gold, one silver

What needs to be appreciated is that Bradley Wiggins is the first ever Britain to win the Tour de France in its 99 year history. In fact if we turn the clock back 4 years to the Beijing Olympics, the idea of a Britain having won the Tour de France at all let alone before the start of the London Olympics was quite simply unrealistic and fanciful.

Bradley Wiggins was a time trialist and a track rider, not a road racer.

His success as he will tell you is not just down to him, but to all at Team Sky. Wiggins is a modest man and the owner of the most famous sideburns since Elvis. I’m not sure Elvis could time trial or road race.

If Wiggins does not win the Sports Personality of the Year award and pick up a knighthood, then it will be a huge injustice.

Congratulation Bradley Wiggins, you are a credit to British sport and cycling in particular. It was noticeable as I cycled home from work tonight that people knew who Bradley Wiggins was. The number of people who made comments about Wiggins and waved from their cars or as they walked was heartening to see. Sadly the news of the fatality tonight dampens slightly the feel goo factor.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Cycling, My Life, The Corrupt Games. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cycling & Today’s Olympics

  1. hey there and thank you for your info – I have definitely
    picked up something new from right here. I
    did however expertise some technical issues using this website, as I experienced
    to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  2. coffee kiosk says:

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2
    pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  3. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this web site
    regularly, this web site is in fact fastidious and the viewers are really sharing good thoughts.

  4. Beryl says:

    It’s an awesome article in favor of all the internet people; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  5. I want to be able to forward Mashable’s or Engadgets, or Techcrunch’s blog post titles to my blog. Just the titles, not the actually blog part. Is this in any way possible?.

  6. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague
    who has been conducting a little homework on this. And he actually bought me breakfast simply because I discovered it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this subject here on your
    blog.

  7. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from
    an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  8. Joel says:

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am actually impressed
    to read all at one place.

Leave a Reply

