Scum

Sorry if the title offends, but it sums up my thoughts on those responsible for 2 arson attacks on the main stand @ Dunston UTS FC.

Dunston UTS are a Northern League club playing at the 9th tier of English football. Last season they won the FA Vase & for a club only formed 37 years ago, they have been a credit to their town.

You would think that the town would be proud of its football club & I am sure some locals are, but sadly not everyone.

The scum who attacked the ground over the weekend & again last night deserve nothing more than contempt (& severe punishment).

Dunston like most clubs at this level are run by a small band of volunteers & exist on a shoestring. Even winning the FA Vase probably only left the club breaking even.

So why do some people destroy that which others have worked hard to create? It seems that people entering the ground to sit in the stand & drink is not unusual.

It is likely that it was these drinkers who caused the 2 fires. Drink if it was involved is no excuse. Especially when they came back a second time to start the fire.

I hope those responsible are proud of themselves. The football club has achieved more than these individuals ever will.

Dunston, every decent football fan is behind you

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

