Police Unity Tour 2013: The Countdown & Training

PUT

Well, its only 60 days until the start of the 2013 Police Unity Tour (PUT) in East Hanover, New Jersey. Its about this time that I start to panic that I have not done enough training or ridden enough miles.

Those of you who have followed this blog for a long time will know that I have had the honour of riding with the Police Unity Tour in 2010, 2011, and 2012.

The ride is now in its 17th year and is a ride by Law Enforcement Officers to raise funds for the memory of Officers killed in the line of duty. The history of the PUT is set out on their website

Our History

In May 1997 the Police Unity Tour was organized, by Officer Patrick P. Montuore of the Florham Park Police Department, with the hope of bringing public awareness of Police Officers who have died in the line of duty and to honor their sacrifices.

We started with 18 riders on a four day fund-raising bicycle ride from Florham Park, NJ to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, DC. which raised $18,000.00. This May we had nearly 1600 members nationwide who made the trip, and we are proud to announce that we were able to donate over 1.65 Million Dollars to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, bringing our total donations to nearly 12 Million Dollars.

In late 2005, the Police Unity Tour pledged $5 Million in support of the National Law Enforcement Museum.  Inspired by our commitment and our motto, “WE RIDE FOR THOSE WHO DIED” the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund has selected our organization to be the sponsor of the Museum’s Hall of Remembrance.

Having completed the $5 Million commitment to the Museum in 2009 the Police Unity Tour dedicated the 2010 ride to the restoration of the walls of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial. The $1.1 Million restoration project includes the re-engraving, coating and sealing of the 18,983 names on the memorial as well as the cleaning of the walls and other memorial improvements

 

The ride is a very special event on many levels. For some people it is riding in memory of a relative or fellow officer who has died in the course of his duty. There is often a large turnout from officers in a police department where one of their colleagues have died. Some of those riding are relatives of those killed who do the ride as a pilgrimage to their loved ones.

Riding the 300 or so miles from East Hanover to Washington DC, you spend a lot of time chatting whilst pedalling along. The stories you hear are at the same time both heartbreaking and uplifting. Some people have never ridden a bike any distance before learning of the PUT. Their efforts and dedication to colleagues or loved ones is uplifting and inspirational.

This year, I am honoured to have been asked to ride in memory of two officers killed in the last year. One was a US Postal Service Inspector who died whilst investigating a fraud relating to Hurricane Katrina. He is Preston Boyd Parnell and the reason I am riding in his memory is because the person that introduced me to the PUT and who has roomed with me for the last two year (& this year coming as well) – Mike T  Rae- is also a US Postal Service Inspector. I am also honoured to have been invited to attend a memorial service/ ceremony to this officer at the US Postal Service Offices in Washington after we arrive in DC.

I have also been asked by a friend who is a police officer in Colorado to ride in memory of one of her colleagues who was accidentally killed by so called friendly fire in Lakewood near Denver, Colorado. The significance of this is that the officer Jeffrey James Davies is actually an Englishman who had married an American lady and settled with her and their two children in Colorado. I understand the deceased’s father will be there in Washington DC to attend the memorial ceremony & to meet us. I am always moved at how grateful the relatives of fallen officers are at us for riding in the PUT. It is humbling as all I am doing is what I enjoy – namely riding my bike. The only thing I do is to try to raise sponsorship.

Please Donate to this Worthwhile Cause

 

 

So, what of my training so far. Well, I’ve really only ridden to/ from work this year. Even then, not even every day. I have done two Sunday rides with a friend of 43 and 50 miles respectively. I had not done a 50 mile ride last year before I went to the USA for the PUT. The comparative figures are

 

Time Period Count Distance Time Elevation Gain Avg Speed Calories
May 2012 5 48.1 03:47:48 863 12.7 1,895
Apr 2012 27 525.53 56:33:48 10,368 9.3 20,657
Mar 2012 40 727.14 57:51:05 12,270 12.6 28,687
Feb 2012 25 329.74 33:21:41 5,656 9.9 15,551
Jan 2012 31 528.73 44:11:38 10,108 12 23,519
Summary 128 2,159.24 195:45:59 39,265 11 90,310
             
             
Time Period Count Distance Time Elevation Gain Avg Speed Calories
May-13            
Apr-13            
Mar 2013 14 257.27 19:21:39 4,163 13.3 10,854
Feb 2013 29 454.06 34:44:42 7,605 13.1 20,037
Jan 2013 30 428.08 35:25:16 7,651 12.1 17,950
Summary 73 1,139.41 89:31:37 19,419 12.7 48,841

 

The first thought is I am on course to equal the mileage I had in 2012 before going to the USA, but I need to increase the mileage between now and May like I did last year. The cold and wet weather does not encourage one to ride extra. Tomorrow it is expected to feel like –9C at the time I should be commuting to work and –7C at the time I am due to ride home from work.

I will get the mileage in, its the least that I can do given the sacrifices made by those I am riding in memory of.

 

Please help me by making a donation to the cause via my first giving page. Even  a couple of pounds can make a big difference. Alternatively donations can be made by sending cheques payable to me or cash to Peter Bennett, 148  Chester Road, ILFORD, Essex IG3 8PY.

Although my first giving page may be showing no donations, I have raised approximately 1/2 the $1750 target so far. Please help me get to the total as soon as possible.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Cycling, My Life, Police Unity Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Police Unity Tour 2013: The Countdown & Training

  1. Reblogged this on SykOse and commented:
    @SykOse.Live.Extreme.

  2. Pingback: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly | Bobby Shaftoe's Gone to Sea

Leave a Reply

