New Year–Same Old Sh*t

A Happy New Year to you dear reader.

Have you ever asked yourself what the difference is between yesterday and today? Its merely a paper/ calendar change rather than the start of something different. It was the middle of winter yesterday, it still is today and tomorrow. In a lot of ways, it was far more sensible to celebrate the New Year as starting on the 1st April as at least there would be spring in the air and the start of growth around us, giving the feeling of a new start.

Instead, the New Year started with a horrible wet windy day. The sort that makes you want to curl up on the sofa and feed your face. [More on this later].

No New Year’s resolutions to comply with for me this morning. Why? Well I never make any resolutions until I get home from my holiday/ time away, so its still party time here for me.

Waking up this morning, we discovered that  the alcohol thief that had visited on Christmas Eve had visited last night. On Christmas Eve they stuck mainly to wine, but last night it appears several bottles of red wine, 2 bottles of vodka, champagne and Prosecco had been consumed by this thief. Knowing Michelle as well as I do, it wouldn’t be her responsible for this(in any event she was unconscious snoring for England during the night), so if its an inside job, then either its the dogs, or Michelle’s mum was sneaking extra drinks.

If the truth be known, I don’t think Michelle’s mum had the opportunity, that leaves the 2 dogs to blame. Michelle agrees that it must have been the dogs as neither of us drank that much!

New Year’s Day morning was very much a CBA day, so instead of cooking a nice breakfast, we decided to head to Morrison’s Supermarket in West Denton for their breakfasts and to see the sights. The population of West Denton are the sort who believe it is appropriate to go out shopping etc. in their pyjamas. Now, call me a snob, but don’t these people have any self respect? It really is not appropriate to go out shopping etc. in pyjamas. I am not the most sartorially elegant, but even I would not go out without having a shower and getting suitably dressed.

Sat near to us in the restaurant (Cafe?) was a female with 3 children between about 5 and 12 years old. All wearing various forms of pyjamas. After tucking into their breakfast of sugar and e-numbers, they got up to leave with mother barking threats and orders at her brood. The mother then said to the children, “look at the mess you’ve made” whilst gesturing to the scene of rubbish and devastation on the table. She then ordered the children to leave the restaurant, leaving the mess as it was.

I had thought it was her intention to get her brood to clear up the mess, but it seems she was proud of the mess and it was somebody else’s responsibility to clean up after her brood. Still, I suppose it is  too much to expect someone who has so little respect for themselves that they go out in pyjamas, to have respect for others or to do anything to help.

This family were not the only ones in pyjamas out today. Others off assorted ages, with and without children were around West Denton in pyjamas and or onsies. What happened to the days when one would not think of going out without at least shaving? (The men also used to shave before going out).

Heading home, a relatively lazy day followed before Michelle announced we were to have a roasted ham joint for tea. This however was not the normal ham, a close look at the label

IMG_0005

reveals it was a DUTCH SMOKED JOINT. Now, like many of you, I have (allegedly) smoked a Dutch joint before. Still I suppose it is a way to get the New Year off on a high.

For me, today also marks the start of my new job. Yesterday being technically the final day of my previous employment and my final pay from my former employer. Its a shame that my former employer has failed to pay me all of my wages owing. What sort of employer shafts an employee for 1/2 month’s salary, especially at this time of year, and without notice or any cause? A disreputable employer you say? Well its not what I would expect from the government – then again, perhaps it is exactly what I should have expected.

Lets hope my new employer is more trustworthy, some chance of that as I am now working for another government organisation!

Out of the Frying Pan and into the Fire is what I am currently thinking.

 

Tonight is sadly my last night with Michelle for a couple of weeks as I am heading back to London tomorrow, via my parent’s house to collect my Christmas presents (the 2 bikes) and take them back home. Then its a couple of days to sort myself out to start my new job on Monday. Its exciting to be starting a new job, especially one that present new challenges. Its a shame the job is based in London rather than on Tyneside, but c’est la vie. The new job is based right in the heart of London, in Trafalgar Square itself. That is a rather iconic location to be working in.

New Years Resolutions? More about those after I am back in London and in my routine

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year–Same Old Sh*t

  1. Sue says:

    I laughed at the pyjamas comments … I have yet to see anyone in the York Waitrose in theirs … but travelling back from my Dad’s, at the services, we saw someone that was old enough to know better in an animal print onesie. :-O Andrew was shocked enough that I went outside to drop something in the communal bin in my jimjams on NYE.

    Good luck with the new job, and HNY to you and Michelle.

Leave a Reply

