A Day in Camden

Its been far too long since I have blogged here or anywhere else.

Why is that you may well ask?

Take your choice from the options below:

  1. Well, my life has been such a whirlwind of social events and high powered business meetings that I have not had time to blog;
  2. I have been upgrading my computer to the latest spec and have not had internet access in the meantime;
  3. I have been in prison for the past few months;
  4. Michelle has banned me from blogging to ensure I don’t post anything that doesn’t tow the party line;
  5. I’ve been too lazy to write anything more than 140 character twitter messages.

If needs be, you can phone a friend (if you have any!)

Anyway, since my last blog post, lots has happened, but nothing much has changed. Rest assured, I’m not going to bore you with a lengthy post telling you all the details about my last 3 months.

This past week, I have had the great pleasure of having company staying with me. Michelle, Josh, her parents and the dogs came to stay with me for a week. This worked rather well. part of the week I was at work and part of the week I had time off. Whilst I was at work, they amused themselves with a trip on the London Eye.

When off work, we all had a day fixing the house up. Yes, I finally got round to fixing the garden shed roof that was cut off in a burglary approximately 2 years ago.  Yes, you read that right, nearly 2 years ago. (Actually, it was over 2 years ago if truth be told). Why had I not fixed it in that time? Procrastination seems to be the only reason I can come up with. Michelle’s dad and Josh were a great help in fitting a new roof to the shed and felting it etc. I’m now a two shed family, as well as having a storage box in the garden. I’ll bet you are jealous now. Of course, having two sheds means that I have more space for bikes, so I have an excuse for an N+1.

I even managed to fit new smoke alarms, a carbon monoxide alarm and a new light switch in the bathroom. One day, I will even get round to fixing new blinds in the front room. What’s that Michelle? I’ve been promising to do that since we first got together!

So, the next day I went to Camden Lock and the famous market there. I’ve only lived in London for around 16 years or so (in several spells) and have never visited it. Camden is one of the famous markets and is home to Madness and a lot of the 80s fashion scene. Given we went on a midweek day rather than the usual Sunday, the place was still buzzing. There were any amount of food places, cuisine from around the world. Lots of art and craft and tacky clothing with a number of really good clothing shops there. I wish I had visited Camden when I lived down in London in the 1980’s when I was young enough to get away with the fashions.

The Markets are a warren of little markets around Camden Lock on the Regent’s Canal. Its a lovely location and a place worthy of a visit. (Just avoid a Sunday if you dislike excessive crowds)

 

Sadly, all good things have to come to an end, so on Good Friday, I drove Michelle, her mother and the dogs back to Newcastle. The other two went by train. With bad timing, I was driving North as Spennymoor Town were playing in the Durham Challenge Cup Final. I also managed to miss their game on Easter Monday as I had driven back to London on Easter Sunday. Timing is not my strong point.

A great weekend in the North East was spent along the beautiful Northumberland Coast on Saturday afternoon. This is one of those beauty spots that fortunately the rest of the country don’t know about? You southerners carry on thinking its grim up north and leave the unspoilt beauty to us in the know. Saturday night brought a meal in one of my favourite pubs, The Derwent Walk Inn. Its a great pub with fantastic beer, great food and great views and in the winter it has a wonderful roaring fire.

Sunday mornings when at Michelle’s we like to go to a little tea room, St Oswald’s’ Tea Room. They do great home cooked breakfasts and are on the splendour of Hadrian’s Wall. The tea shop is run by a farmer’s wife. The car park is the farm yard. This time, the farmer had a lot of his sheep in the barns off the farm yard as they were lambing. Despite being there for a couple of hours, we never saw any live births. Two had just been born before we got there, and the remaining Ewe’s were keeping their legs crossed until we had left.

I have to confess to being fascinated watching the recently born lambs and seeing how they interacted with their mothers and the other ewes.

Sadly, Sunday night it was time to drive back to the Beautiful South. Fortunately, it seems that I missed the rain in the South East on Sunday, having a great day in the Tyne Valley and getting to London on a lovely sunny night.

So, as you see, its been a week of DIY, Market visiting and Lambing Live. Best of all though, it was a week of fun and laughter with Michelle.

Hope you all had a happy Easter.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day in Camden

  1. Sue says:

    Welcome back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

