Politicians Say: Politicians Do

In london on Thursday we have the European Elections (as the rest of the country does) and also the local elections.

The number of candidates standing is incredible. area are 17 standing in the Euro Elections alone. I feel left out ad I am not a candidate. The causes / parties they stand for is as varied as you can think of. The only party missing seems to be the “Gay whales against vivisection and nuclear weapons”

There is similar variety in the local elections with 3 votes pet petson in my area. Ironically, the Lib Dems have a candidate whose posters proclaim him as Straight Gary. Ironic when one thinks back to the previous Liberal
leader Jeremy Thorpe. (Vote Liberal or we’ll shoot your dog).

As you can imagine with all these candidates, the amount of electioneering material coming through the immensely is immense. Every party wants to get its message across.

Now if you are like me, junk mail goes earth into the bin. (the recycling bin of course as I care for planet earth)

As I was throwing the latest batch of big paper into the bin, I was thinking of the waste of trees, power etc gone into producing this material no one reads. Then I noticed who the leaflet was from- The Green Party- yes, plane. bunch of tree huggers who preach about saving the planet.

Even if their glossy material was printed on recycled paper (no mention it was & I doubt it was), the amount of power used to print these leaflets, and the fuel used to corner them around the country seems to be contrary to the message the Green Party preach.

Seems its a them selves. of politicians preach one thing and then do something different themselves.

The Greens are of course not the only hypocrites, but this did seem a good example (should that be a bad example?)

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

