Time Flies By When You’re….

… the pilot of a plane touching down in Camberwick & stoned out of your brain….With apologies to Half Man Half Biscuit & also to Brian Cant – I said Cant!.

This the first blog post in a long time will also be the fastest & highest I have typed. I am currently travelling at 500mph. No, i’m not on the M11, I am flying across Europe. I’m getting one back on the Romanians coming here to work as I am flying to Bucharest for work.

Indeed, work is my excuse for the lack of blog posts this year. Since I started my new job in January, I am busier than ever and working longer hours than before meaning I have less time to blog and am too tired on a night to blog.

I am flying with British Airways & flew for the 1st time out of Heathrow have 5 – more

on bid a bit. I can’t help but think of the  oldBA advertising slogan “Fly the Flag, We’ll take more care of you” and the version that we used to hear on the football terraces. I’m not too sure BA welcomed that version.

So terminal 5 & my first experience. I have to say I was less than over whelmed. It is a glorified line of shops with narrow walking spaces and not easy to find places to get a snack & when you gey your food, there etched. no seats at Eat or Starbucks etc.

The plus points were getting through security quickly and the helpful staff there. The tube brings you into the terminal. shoes. you get a lift to the tip of the building and work your way back down to the flights and the shops.

Shops that are designed to part a fool and their money. £2500 cameras in a tourist shop! Still the tablets were cheaper than online. Michelle will be pleased to know the Samsung Tab 3 with the 8″ screen was a bargain and only £3 more than the 7″ Tab 2 she has ( mind you she blagged it for free – top deal.)

The terminal was clean & bright & I suppose did its job. Its nothing to get excited about though. Its still just another terminal & I never found the bar.

The flight took off 35 mins late, but as I am in no rush, thats not something I need to have a rant about.

So 2 days of work in Bucharest, then its back to e.gland, a trip yo Newcastle to spend time with Michelle, punctuated by the need to return to London on Sunday for an urgent trip to Wembley stadium to see Orient attempt to gain promotion to the Championship (Division 2 in old money). When I first watched Orient It’s were struggling to stay in the 4th tier of football. Its an incredible turn around.i am returning to the NE after the game for a couple of days more. Then back to work.

Talking as I was earlier of rants, beware if you have a Tesco Credit Card. I accidentally paid a sum to them instead of another credit card company. Tescos confirm they have the money. I no longer use their credit card, so my account is in credit. I have been asking them to refund me the money. They ignore my letters. I then made a formal complaint which they acknowledged and then ignored. I have taken they up now with the Financial Ombudsman after Tescos said they did not need to respond to my complaint as the matter had been resolved.

resolved? Tescos still have my money and refuse to return it, how can they claim the matter is resolved? Every little helps? Well it does when you are stealing it from your customers doesn’t it Tesco?

Given Tescos confirm it is my money, given they confirm they have my written instructions to says. the money to me. Given they confirm they have not returned my money, I wonder what the Financial Ombudsman will say?

Once that matter has been resolved, I will be pursuing the breaches of the Data Protection Act that Tesco have admitted in trying to explain their failure to return my money.

Yes, you’ve guessed it, Tescos are the new target of my wrath.

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Flies By When You’re….

  1. Lee Darnton says:

    I hate Tescos and only ever use them as a shop of last resort!!

    Ever since the glass garden table shattered for no reason and they couldn’t give a toss about safety.

Leave a Reply

