Not the Best 36 Hours

So, Thursday, I was due to drive to Newcastle and back to London to attend a funeral of a close friend’s mother. a 600+ mile round trip in a single day.

I went to bed around midnight on Wednesday night and was woken up at 0100 by water dripping onto the bed. There was a storm outside and it seems somehow water was getting down the side of the chimney stack. Not much water and nothing I could do, so I slept on other side of bed.

0500, alarm goes, I get up, get showered, sort out my suit etc and at just before 0600, I leave the front door of my house to set off to drive to Newcastle, only to be confronted by this sight

photo_2016-04-14_14-36-45

The car was backed up against the front window of my house. Gutted, it looked as though car had been broken into. Further investigation revealed that none of the neighbours cars had been damaged and nothing had been taken from my car. In fact, nothing had been disturbed in the car.

Clearly, the car couldn’t be driven in that state to Newcastle. I was unable to hire a car at that time in the morning and flights or trains would not get me to the funeral in time. I could not therefore attend the funeral.

Later that day, when Autoglass attended to secure the car, discussion with the technician led me to believe the cause of the damage was probably a piece of metal either falling from the roof or blown up by the storm the previous night.

So that was 2 things gone wrong in first 6 hours of the day.

Wednesday night, I put my tea in the oven, turned the oven on and left it to cook for an hour. Going back, the food had not cooked. Why not? Well the oven was definitely on, the gas flame clearly burning and the oven hot. That was the bottom oven, and like a mug I had put my tea in the top oven.

One of the things I had intended to cook was a jacket potato for my lunch at work the next day. So just before I went to bed, I put the potato in the main oven, set the temperature and put the timer on to turn the oven off after the potato had cooked. Now the timer only works on the bottom oven and the food was definitely in the bottom oven.  Waking up the next morning, the timer had worked. The jacket potato was still raw though. So what  had gone wrong? Well this time I had turned the top oven on, so it had been burning gas for 6 or 7 hours but not cooking anything.

Oh well, I set off to cycle to work intending to buy my lunch at the local supermarket. Not any great hardship really. When I got to work, I realised I had not taken my wallet, so now I had no food and no money to buy any lunch.

Then when I went to go home, I realised I had also forgotten to take my bike pump with me to work. Fortunately the bike tyres were not flat yet, but if you are a cyclist you will realise you only get punctures at inconvenient times. I was surely going to get a puncture on the way home, especially as I had no money to take bike on train home in the event of a puncture.

No, I never got a puncture, but it did rain heavily all the way home, so by the time I got home, some 15 miles later, I could wring out all my clothing. Indeed my shoes, despite having overshoes on, are still wet some 48 hours later.

As the song goes, Things Can Only Get Better – I hope

About spen666

I'm a 40 something football fan and cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Cycling, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not the Best 36 Hours

  1. George says:

    No luck there then ?

  2. Helen Bennett says:

    Bad luck re your car and being unable to attend the funeral. Did not know about the Police Unity Tour taking place at the weekend.

Leave a Reply

